Drift Away

By: Dave

Apr 08 2016

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: California, cars, D3100, Nikon D3100, Photography

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:NIKON D3100

April 8, 2016: Formula Drift driver Justin Pawlak warms up his tires before approaching the Starting Line.

April in Long Beach, CA means only one thing: racing. The city has hosted the Toyota Grand Prix for over 40 years but it’s much more than one race. It’s usually two weekends of the “roar on the shore” but last year, it turned into three with the addition of the much quieter Formula E electric race. And in between that and the Big Race is the Formula Drift series.

Today was Practice Day for the drift cars so with that in mind, I took my camera to work so that I could walk across the street — yes, I’m that close to the venue — and take some shots. In the end I think I took well over 100 in the time I was there with just a few being favorites (click to enlarge).

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (4)

I took these from the elevated walkway of a condominium complex that sits adjacent to Seaside Way. There’s no security to prevent anyone from watching since, well, people live there. Like myself, a lot of those watching sneaked out of the office for a bit to watch experience it first-hand.

If you’ve never witnessed any kind of auto racing, you should see at least one event. It’s an assault on the eyes and ears but is incredibly fun.

A quick note about these shots. I’m starting to edit more of them with the Snapseed app on my phone, which requires me to transfer the originals from my camera’s memory card to computer, then upload them to a cloud-based storage service. I then download them to my phone, edit them, watermark them (if I remember) then send them back to the cloud.

It’s a bit of work but I like the results that Snapseed produces. I’m still using Photoshop 7 and I know the latest version is far superior, but I haven’t gotten around to getting it just yet. Besides, my computer is likely on its last leg and it might not even be able to handle the new version.

This was how I spent my lunch today. So how did you spend yours?

